Burgess Seed Reviews and Complaints

WELCOME TO MEASUREDUP
We are the online leader in resolving customer complaints.

* Customers use MeasuredUp to get replies from Businesses
* Thousands of Businesses across the country are partnered with us
* Businesses of all sizes follow MeasuredUp everyday to reply directly to your review
* Partner Businesses are alerted each time a new complaint, question or review is submitted

Put MeasuredUp to work for you free and get answers directly from a Business

Submit Your Free Complaint, Question Or Review To A Business


Notice: Undefined index: company_owner in /home/measured/public_html/core/templates/company_profile.tpl.php on line 70
Companies Click Here
Businesses
Reply Here
Claim your Business Free
Claim Your
Business Free
Write Reviews
Write Free
Reviews
Submit Support Tickets to Companies
Submit
Support Tickets


Burgess Seed Reviews

Subscribe Subscribe: RSS 2.0 - Atom 1.0
  • Burgess Plants are a Joke



    I couldn't believe my eyes when upon receiving I saw the quality of the plants I had ordered from Burgess. In spite of their appearance I gave them a try and planted them immediately, and unsurprisingly they all died within a month. But, alas, Burgess does not offer refunds unless one requests a refund within 14 days of receipt. The company is dishonest, and the merchandise is inferior and the lowest of quality. More...
    (Miscellaneous)
    RichardButh's Picture   RichardButh    0 Comments   Comments
  • Rotten Bulbs from Royal Dutch Bulbs



    I purchased canna rhinzomes from Royal Dutch Bulbs. For three weeks I have received the run around. First, I was told to wait 6 weeks to see if the rhinzomes would grow. Then I was told that the product, which was partly rotten on arrival, had to have been returned within 14 days of receipt. Next, you had to have the shipping receipt from the box the material arrived in, even though the company had a computer record of my purchase. From repeated calls to "customer service" I received nothing but obnoxious and belligerent responses. I have sent a letter and proof of purchase to... More...
    (Home Improvement)
    zerbec's Picture   zerbec    1 Comments   Comments
  • you better save the box



    Any mail order plants are going to come smaller than we anticpated because of logististic and the nice catelog pictures. But this company's customer service is terrible. Don't expect your order to come in a timely fashion. Maybe that is because of the nature of fresh plants but if you put the plant on your cover you think you would have enough on stock... It took weeks to months to get my orignal order which was rotten when it got here. So you figure call them up and get some replacements? No way you have to send them the orignal box label to get a replacement which has been... More...
    (Online Shopping - Sponsored by AMAZON.COM)
    2leftthumbs's Picture   2leftthumbs    0 Comments   Comments
  • Forget the Warranty



    This is the worst customer service fiasco I have encountered since the 1970s. Plants ordered are small and poorly rooted. Failure rate was from 80% to 50%, nothing better. This in environment that had a 95% success rate with other vendors. After a month, sent shipping label as required by company. Waited two weeks for response. I was then informed I would have to wait 6 weeks? Doesn't 4+2 equal 6? Calls and emails to customer service accomplished nothing, very brusk and non-involved attitude. Who needs this frustration in their life? The season will be over before this company... More...
    (Online Shopping - Sponsored by AMAZON.COM)
    usnavyvet's Picture   usnavyvet    4 Comments   Comments

Burgess Seed Reviews By Product


Burgess Seed Comments


grizzleibr says: (3 years ago)
 0
Ordered over $250.00 worth of Raspberry and Blackberry plants from Burgess Seed. Arrived DRY bareroot, DRY!!! immediately placed in water to soak over night, planted next day and watered every other day, mulched with sawdust, checked soil PH..................95% DIED! Sent ALL required crap for warranty, 6 weeks later I'm still getting runaround. Expensive lesson learned

DO NOT BUY FROM THEM !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



turkeytrot says: (5 years ago)
 0
Had complete failure with plants ordered from Burgess. 10 trees and 6 shrubs did not survive last winter and are now beginning growth from the root. All are hardy for our zone. A bunch of junk.



organic says: (7 years ago)
 0
Burgess Seed and Farmers (they also own) has been an
expensive venture and a run around.I ordered early from both
and was assured that they would be sent out in first week in March.
In March, I did receive a packet of snow peas and nothing else.
Time went on and my requests were ignored so end of May
Burgess sent order but such poor plants ....and Farmers
came in June, of which, in zone 8/9 forget it. I finally
got some replacements in July...everything dead as a door
mail...but beyond that...they said AND ORDER WAS SENT IN
MARCH....of which, was the seeds.This is the most UNAMERICAN
transaction I have encountered...and can you imagine what
I could of purchases for about $200 locally.
Better Business Bureau should move and do something but
apparently non-profits are not activists...HUMMMM..
But I am appalled in dealing with such entities with such
twists and turns...
So all I can say is that we become what we are taught to hate
so the bolshevick aspect is well and alive...sometimes I feel
it is growing....like a cancer.



organic says: (7 years ago)
 0
Burgess Seed and Farmers (they also own) has been an
expensive venture and a run around.I ordered early from both
and was assured that they would be sent out in first week in March.
In March, I did receive a packet of snow peas and nothing else.
Time went on and my requests were ignored so end of May
Burgess sent order but such poor plants ....and Farmers
came in June, of which, in zone 8/9 forget it. I finally
got some replacements in July...everything dead as a door
mail...but beyond that...they said AND ORDER WAS SENT IN
MARCH....of which, was the seeds.This is the most UNAMERICAN
transaction I have encountered...and can you imagine what
I could of purchases for about $200 locally.
Better Business Bureau should move and do something but
apparently non-profits are not activists...HUMMMM..
But I am appalled in dealing with such entities with such
twists and turns...
So all I can say is that we become what we are taught to hate
so the bolshevick aspect is well and alive...sometimes I feel
it is growing....like a cancer.



CaroleB11 says: (7 years ago)
 0
I have also ordered 48 Green Giant Thuja trees and 8 arrived dead. It has been 3 months and still no replacements. They keep sending my letters back telling me to send them back to them when everything they needed was in the packet. I have been hung up on being told the CSR was not Mr Wesley. They hope to exhaust you. BEWARE check out the BBB of IL.



tryingthisagain says: (7 years ago)
 0
I placed an order for the tree sampler. Sampler being the key word, not tree bargain. After 8 weeks and 6 e-mails I received 18 of the exact same kind of tree. Am I supposed to believe hybrid poplar is the one and only over stocked species of tree they had in the whole warehouse? Or some lazy illegal alien just grabbed the first 18 trees he could find?



Wary says: (7 years ago)
 0
I found this company's business practices to be dishonest, incompetent and with total disregard to customer care. I am amazed that they are still in business as I am pretty certain they did not single me out to provide such horrific customer care. My best recommendation to any and all consumers is to completely AVOID doing business with this company.



NETNGardener says: (8 years ago)
 0
BUYER BE WARE.I ordered two trees and a blueberry plant from Burgess. They were planted following their instructions. Only one tree lived and the other two are now in my compost pile. I contacted Burgess but because it was after the 14 day return policy (I couldn't plant my trees until after that time anyway because of my frozen ground) they will not refund me money for the tree and blueberry. I was told if I returned the shipping label and an item of the lost items they would replace them. But I did not save the shipping label so now I have no chance of getting any kind of compensation. I just wanted to warn other gardeners that might not know to not waste they time and money on any of their companies. They go under several different company names and they have several hundred complaints against them to BBB of Illinois.
Burgess Seed aka House of Wesley, Inc Additional DBA Names: Richard Owen Nursery
Farmer Seed & Nursery
Four Seasons Nursery
Inter-State Nurseries
Exciting Gardens
Royal Dutch Gardens
Honeycreek Nurseries, LLC
Kelly Nurseries
Plantron, Inc.
Burgess Seed & Plant Company
Direct Gardening.



Mwitt says: (8 years ago)
 0
Burgess Seed aka House of Wesley, Inc Additional DBA Names: Richard Owen Nursery
Farmer Seed & Nursery
Four Seasons Nursery
Inter-State Nurseries
Exciting Gardens
Royal Dutch Gardens
Honeycreek Nurseries, LLC
Kelly Nurseries
Plantron, Inc.
Burgess Seed & Plant Company
Direct Gardening.
I placed an online order of over $300 and then called customer service about a few question. I had very poor results from them so I told them to cancel the order. First I was told sure no problem I will cancel that. After not receiving any conformation I called back to see why, I was then told it had to be done in writing or by email. I sent several emails and faxes and still no credit or response from the company. After Googeling this company I found more dissatisfied customer than happy ones. If you have this much problem before the order is shipped what type of service can you expect after you receive them. The BBB shows they have 46 employees and at least 470 complaints filed with BBB in the past 3 years. I read that many customers are claiming they ship dead sticks and don't hold true on the return policy. I suggest before ordering from any company search the company name along with the word complaints, check there satisfaction rate and document all conversations before and after ordering. I was told by someone that when calling a company if it says this call may be monitored or recorded this allows you the right to do the same without further notice. What ever happened to customer service and striving for satisfied customer, I think these days are over. Notice how when you go to the grocery or anywhere else for that matter nearly everything is imported. If we don't take a stand and demand customer satisfaction and that items be made in our own country for our own country (the great USA) it will only get worse. If your unemployed then wright or email USA manufactures and ask how you can promote there business, they want it as much as you. To all God Bless America.



TNGardener says: (9 years ago)
 0
Beware changing prices at Burgess. I had about 10 items selected from the print catalog and added to the order at the eBurgess.com website. I looked at fruit trees and noticed they were offering the Black Tartan Cherry trees for $1.99/ea. I added these to my cart, checked out and got confirmation. About 10 days later I got a nasty email saying the price was invalid and I would need to pay $7.99/ea. for these trees. I own a business and if I make a pricing error I HONOR MY PRICES. They do not. They came across as the least honest seed company I've seen so I cancelled the whole order. DO not trust the posted prices. They will change prices on the fly which is fraud in my opinion. I'd never use them again!




Post a comment for Burgess Seed

login with Facebook and share your reviews

[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team